You are here:

Linda K. Amos Award for Distinguished Service to Women

Linda K. Amos

Linda K. Amos was the founding chair of the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women and served as Associate Vice President of Health Sciences and Dean of the College of Nursing. She is Professor Emerita of Nursing.

This award recognizes an individual staff or faculty member who has selflessly given time and energy to improve the educational and/or working environment for women at the University and best represents the ideals and actions of Linda K. Amos. It is presented annually in March during Women's Week.

Nominations must be made by a member of the University community (faculty, staff or student) and should include the following:

  1. Letter of nomination outlining the candidate's commitment to improving the educational and/or working environment for women at the University of Utah. Nominations should be focused on broad contributions and activities specific to the advancement of women at the University of Utah, rather than addressing women's working environment or educational opportunities nationally or within a single unit at the University.
    Nominees for the Award will be considered in light of their cumulative, positive advancement of women at the University of Utah. Indicators of excellence may include one or more of the following:
    • Improving the educational environment for women at the department, college, or university.
    • Improving the working environment for women at the department, college or university.
    • Establishing policies to include and value women's contributions.
    • Advancing equity and representation of women.
    • Creating opportunities for women.
    • Expanding the influence of women at the department, college, or university
  2. Brief CV, resume, or biography of the candidate
  3. One or more additional letters from the University community supporting the candidate.

Nominators are advised to inform the nominee of his or her nomination. Previously nominated candidates will be considered by the Committee if nominators have updated the original nomination letter and provided additional information for the file in support of the nominee.

Deadline for Nominations – Friday, January 18th, 2019 at 12 Noon

Please send nomination materials electronically to:

2018 Amos Recipient:

Carolyn Levitt-Bussian 2018 Lynda K. Amos Winner

Carolyn Levitt-Bussian, Collections Manager of Paleontology
Natural History Museum of Utah

Past Recipients


Harriet W. Hopf, Professor of Anesthesiology, School of Medicine


Kim Hackford-Peer, Associate Director, Gender Studies


Mary Anne Berzins, Assistant VP for Human Resources


Cynthia J. Burrows, Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry. Thatcher Presidential Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry
2013 Joanne Yaffe, Ph.D., Associate Professor, College of Social Work, Adjunct Assoc. Professor, Psychiatry
Debra Willardson, Athletic Trainer
2012 Carrie L. Byington, M.D., H.A. and Edna Benning Presidential Professor of Pediatrics, Vice Chair Research Enterprise, Department of Pediatrics
2011 Susan Olson, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
2010 Debra Daniels, Director, University of Utah Women's Resource Center
2009 Leigh Neumayer, MD, Professor of General Surgery
2008 Kathleen Digre, MD, Professor of Neurology and Ophthalmology
2007 Kathy Brooks, former director of the Women's Resource Center
2006 Elizabeth Tashjian, Associate Professor of Finance
2005 Carol Sansone, Professor of Psychology
2004 M. Denise Dearing, Professor of Biology
2003 Kirtly Parker Jones, MD, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
2002 JoAnn Lighty, Professor of Chemical Engineering
2001 Victoria Judd, MD, Professor of Pediatrics
2000 Fern Gardner, University of Utah Women's Basketball Coach

Linda K. Amos, Founding Chair of the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women, Former Associate Vice President of Health Sciences, Professor Emerita of Nursing, Dean Emerita of the College of Nursing


Last Updated: 7/13/19