Skip to content

The President's Child Care Task Force

Woman sitting in meetingMember of the Child Care Task Force listens to ideas about constructing a needs assessment instrument.

President Michael Young appointed a Child Care Task Force in August 2008 to assess the availability, appropriateness, and quality of child-care resources for members of the campus community, including students, staff and faculty. The task force will produce a report of findings and a series of recommendations based on those findings.

In its first year, 2008-2009, the Task Force devoted its efforts to defining the scope of its analysis and planning of tasks. During the 2009-2010 academic year, efforts were focused on data collection. Information was collected about the capacity and quality of services provided in on-campus facilities, effectiveness of and satisfaction with the operations of the Child Care Coordinating Office, and child care provision by comparable institutions. A large needs survey, administered to the entire campus community, is planned for September 2010, which will complete the assessment, and the remainder of the academic year will be devoted to analysis of findings and formulation of recommendations to the PCSW and President Young.

While this Task Force was appointed directly by President Young, membership was nominated by the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) to provide a broad representation of staff, faculty, and students from both Health Sciences and Academic Affairs, as well as representatives of child care centers on campus. The Task Force reports on a regular basis to the PCSW as well as to President Young.

Child Care Task Force Membership and Subcommittees, 2009-2010

  • Joanne Yaffe, Chair, College of Social Work
  • Kris Hale, Co-Chair, Child Care Coordinating Office
  • Stacy Ackerlind, Student Assessment
  • Tobin Bennion, ASUU
  • Mary Anne Berzins, Human Resources
  • Victoria Billings, ASUU Non-Traditional Student Services
  • Jason Castillo, College of Social Work
  • Kathy Chapman, Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders
  • Valerie Green, Early Childhood Education Center and University Kids
  • Leanne Hawken, Department of Special Education
  • Wendy Hobson-Rohrer, Department of Pediatrics
  • Cari Johnson, Department of Geology & Geophysics
  • Geri Mendoza, Child and Family Development Center
  • Teresa Molina-Avella, College of Social Work
  • Robin Perley, BioKids
  • Kristin Phillips, Risk and Insurance Management
  • Elizabeth Proemmel, Student Assessment
  • Loretta Cooper Rudd, Special Education
  • Christian Sarver, College of Social Work
  • Cynthia Stark, Department of Philosophy
  • Jennifer Still, Campus Design & Construction
  • Sonja Van Hala, Department of Family & Preventive Medicine
  • Angela Wang, Department of Orthopedics
  • Misty McIntyre, PCSW Graduate Assistant, Support

For additional information about the Child Care Task Force, please contact Joanne Yaffe or Kris Hale.

Last Updated: 2/12/24